Army Spotlight – Halflings of the Mortal Realms

Foro Warhammer

Administrador
Usuario Habitual (3/7)
Me gustas
Chris-Coles-Sept19-Header8rgdf.jpg

The Warhammer Age of Sigmar community is always coming up with wild, inventive themes for new armies. The rich background, different Realms, and bizarre locations give ample opportunity for strange, exciting, and sometimes just plain fun conversions. Chris Coles created a Free Peoples army using converted Halflings, and it’s a visual feast – a veritable smorgasbord of tasty little details. Take a look!

Chris: I’ve been playing Games Workshop games for 22 years – my first set was a Gorkamorka box. While I lean towards green-skin armies, I enjoy converting and kit bashing anything I can get my hands on!

When the Blood Bowl Halfling team was released, I initially bought the team to compete in a stunty league at my local store, then I noticed a few conversions online for Halfling warbands for Mordheim.

Chris-Coles-Sept19-Unit3mds.jpg

I’ve always had a soft spot for the underdog – and Halflings are no exception – so I immediately began building a Guild Guard spear unit using some leftover Boingrot Bounderz lances and Orc shields. I knew that I was going to enjoy creating this army the second the final grass tuft was glued onto my first completed model, and I was immediately ready for more!

Chris-Coles-Sept19-Unit9fdcx-1.jpg

I’m fortunate to receive advice from the community, and I found a wealth of ideas (and bits) as a result of conversations with my friends. One of the most memorable examples was a discussion about what a Halfling could masquerade as in the Mortal Realms! My Demigryph-hound riders were created after a chat about what modern Halflings would ride into battle, whilst the Archers were a homage to the mythical Lumpin Croop from the world-that-was.